This small village is situated north of Cahors in the valley of the river Vert, the heart of the village lying between the river and a canal leading to the former watermill.
The place name could well originate from the Celtic name Gegous or Jegous, meaning 'belonging to Gegous'. In the middle Ages several grand families succeeded each other as the barons of Gigouzac, including the Stephani family who, between 1280 and 1330, built the Palais de la Raymondie in Martel.
Examples of the charming local architecture of the Bouriane area include the pretty stone houses, the water mill and the church of St Pierre-ès-Liens dating from the 12th century with its 17th century altar.
A fortification occupied by the English during the Hundred Years War, known traditionally as the 'Chateau des Anglais', used to be visible to the north of the village. The seigneurial chateau, more residential than defensive, was in the centre of the village. Since the 19th century these constructions are no longer discernible.
The little chapel dedicated to St Roch dates from the 19th century and used to be the destination for a procession each August to bless the cattle of the village. It also possessed a 'miraculous' brown river boulder which in times of drought was taken from the chapel, carried down a flight of stone steps to be immersed in the river Vert and then returned, with prayers for rain, to its place in the chapel. This custom continued until the 1930s.